Edify: Introduction to a series

Let no evil talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for edifying, as fits the occasion, that it may impart grace to those who hear. — St. Paul, Ephesians 4:29

I’ve decided to begin a series of weekly posts during Lent for a single purpose: to edify people.

To edify is “to build up.” To build a building you need a solid foundation, a good plan, sound materials, skilled workers. The same can be said for building up people. I announce here at the outset that I believe all of those are found Jesus and, because they are inseparable, in His Body the Church.

Another point: While it’s true that edifying sometimes means prior demolition, clearing the way for a firmer foundation or a better structure, that’s not what this series is about. There is a time and a place for demolition, but it is not this time or this place here. Building is harder and deserves more attention.

Will there be controversy, pain, difficulty? Probably. The way of Jesus is a straight and narrow one that goes through the Cross, His and ours. But for my part I will strive not to write anything for the sake of controversy or pain or difficulty, and all in a spirit of encouragement and hope.

My goal is to write simply and diligently and peacefully and briefly. Most of all I intend to write “on my knees,” in a prayerful spirit of humility and poverty. I make no promises of value. I have only a few loaves and fish, not enough to go far.

Feel free to share these posts if you think they will edify others. God bless you, and I’ll see you in a few days. If you use an RSS reader like Feedly you can follow the series from this link.

One thought on “Edify: Introduction to a series

Comments are closed.