The new reading

If newspapers are on their deathbed, reading in general ain’t doin’ so hot either. A related story – “Is Google Making Us Stupid?” – got my attention several months back (more here), because I recognized myself in it. I have always been an avid, almost obsessive reader. Heck, I wrote a weekly book review for years straight, and actually read the books. But now I spend most of my “reading” time sitting looking at a screen like this one. So I made a resolution for the new year to cultivate that habit of reading, on actual paper.

Ironically, the New Atlantis story linked above, talking about how differently we read on the screen, dropped a 5,300-word bomb on these sore eyes, of which I managed to read approximately 300 words.

I do wonder what I would do with a Kindle ….

